Annette’s Story

Annette has been volunteering at the Age Scotland charity shop in Stockbridge for six years.

Volunteer Week

I began volunteering after my mum passed away I was very low and in need of a reason to get up every day, the shop gave me that reason. I really enjoy the company and the good fun atmosphere in the Stockbridge shop.

We are a team and I feel part of it. I usually help sort and hang up stock and like to see the clothes selling and making money that way I know I’ve made a difference. Initially it took me 2 weeks to pluck up the courage to ask about volunteering and I’m so happy that I did its been a life changer.

Manager Amanda says “I’m very proud to have Volunteers like Annette. She is a key volunteer who helps us in the stockroom she is great at clearing deliveries and is an established part of the team. Im really pleased that after all these years Annette is still volunteering as i know how much of a challenge it was for her to start after the loss of her parents. Without Annette’s help processing stock we would not get lots of great stock out for our customers. ”

Find out more about volunteering opportunities with Age Scotland and the Silver Line Scotland.  If you are interested in volunteer in your local Age Scotland shop, you can just drop by for a friendly chat. Find our Edinburgh shops, follow on Twitter or Like us on Facebook.

For Information, Friendship and Advice call the Silver Line Scotland on 0800 4 70 80 90

 

Leave a Reply

